Annual Meeting

Travel Awardees

Travel and Research Awards are supported by:

American Academy of Addiction Psychiatry
National Institute on Drug Abuse
National Insitute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism
Professional Risk Management Services, Inc.

Medical Student Travel Award Recipients

The medical student travel scholarships offer the opportunity for medical students interested in pursuing residency and education in the field of Addiction Psychiatry to attend the Annual Meeting.

Jessica Healy, BS
Rowan University
Janet Baek, BS
Wake Forest School of Medicine
Michal McDowell, MPH
Harvard Medical Schoole
Aaron Krumheuer
Columbia University of College of Physicians and Surgeons
Jason Tran, BA
UC Riverside School of Medicine
Samantha Schoeneman, BA
Rush Medical College

PGY I-IV/Resident Travel Award Recipients

The resident travel scholarship offers the opportunity for PGY I-IV residents interested in learning about the etiology, diagnosis and treatment of substance abuse use disorders to attend the Annual Meeting.

Shram Shukla, MD
Walter Reed NMMC
Saeed Ahmed, MD
Nassau University Medical Center
Walid Aziz, MD
Howard University Hospital
Talha Baloch, MD
Southern Illinois University School of Medicine
Ryan Mals, MD
University of New Mexico
Sabrina Correa da Costa, MD
University of Texas Health Sciences Center
Colin Burke, MD
Massachusetts General Hospital
Sarah Calnan, DO
Institute of Living
Fabrizzio Delgado, MD
Lincoln Medical & Mental Health Center
Martha Ignaszewski, MD
Harvard Medical School
Bigya Shah, MBBS
All India Institute of Medical Sciences
Ish Bhalla, MD
Yale University

PGY-V/Fellow Travel Award Recipients

The PGY-V travel scholarships offers the opportunity for PGY-V+ Addiction Psychiatry residents interested in furthering their careers in the field of Addiction Psychiatry to attend the Annual Meeting.

Julia Merti, MD
University of Maryland
Ammar El Sara, MD
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai St. Luke’s – West
Kristen Schmidt, MD
University of Illinois College of Medicine 
Simon Sidelnik, MD
NYU School of Medicine 
Kathryn Keegan, MD
NYU School of Medicine
Maribel Rivera-Mulero, MD
Emory University
James Walker, MD
Medical University of South Carolina
Brad Stankiewicz, MD
Boston Medical Center
Jessica Zoltani, MD
Yale New Haven Hospital
Manassa Hany, MD
Mount Sinai West
Luz Elizabeth Pacheco
Medical University of South Carolina

Early Career Recipient

The Early Career Addiction Psychiatry Award is chosen based on the quality of original research conducted by the applicant and their demonstrated commitment to the field of Addiction Psychiatry. This award-winning research will be presented during the Paper Session on Saturday, December 5, 2015.

Joao De Aquino, MD
Yale University

Regional Travel Awards

Amy Stark, MD
Regional- Area I
Sarah Oreck, MD, MS
Regional- Area II
Kathrine Riva, MD, BA
Regional- Area III
Deepak Alapati, MBBS, MPH
Regional- Area IV
Surbhi Khanna, MBBS
Regional- Area V
Eleasa Sokolski, MD
Regional- Area VI
Patrick Bell, MD
Regional- Area VII
Theresa De Freitas Nicholson, MD
Regional- Area VIII
Anees Bahji, HBSc, MD
Regional- Area IX

International Travel Award

Shalini Singh, MBBS
All India Institute of Medical Sciences