View the 2021 Annual Meeting Schedule

2021 Conference Awards are supported by:

American Academy of Addiction Psychiatry
National Institute on Drug Abuse

AAAP John Renner Award

This award is given to medical students, residents, and fellows who are interested in learning about substance use disorders and co-occurring psychiatric disorders.

Medical Students

May Chammaa, BA
Wayne State University School of Medicine
Rachel Greenberg, BS
Medical College of Wisconsin
Benjamin Johnson, MS
University of Nebraska Medical Center
Gali Katznelson, MBE
Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry, Western University
Rachel Lockard, MPH
Oregon Health and Sciences University
Ariella Maghen, BA
Ruth and Bruce Rappaport Faculty of Medicine, Technion
– Israel Institute of Technology
Bekir Nihat Dogrul
Gulhane Faculty Medicine, University of Health Sciences

PGY I-IV/Residents

Nicholas Apping, MD
NYU Grossman School of Medicine
Victor Contreras, MD
University of California, San Francisco
Vinay Kotamarti, MD
UT Southwestern Medical Center
Kishan Shah, MD
Rutgers University
Ari Cuperfain, MD
University of Toronto
Eun Kyung Kim, MD
Massachusetts General Hospital/McLean Hospital
Sitwat Malik, MD
Gateway Behavioral Health CSB. Savannah, GA
Erik Quan, MD
NYU School of Medicine
Pooja Sarkar, DO
University of Massachusetts Medical School/Baystate Medical Center
Nancy Shenoi, MD
Baylor College of Medicine
Kevin Xu, MD, MPH
Washington University School of Medicine, Department of Psychiatry


Fabiola Arbelo Cruz, MD
Yale School of Medicine
Gurpreet Singh Guliani, MD
Kansas University Medical Center
Kathleen Hua, DO
Mount Sinai Morningside
Rachel Knight, MD
NYP Weill Cornell
Elizabeth McCord, MD
Emory School of Medicine
Sonia Shariff, MD
Pine Rest Christian Mental Health Services

Regional and International Award

This award is given to residents or fellows who have an interest in Addiction Psychiatry, demonstrate leadership in the field, and are enrolled in an ACGME or another accredited psychiatry residency program. Awardees host an educational activity in their area after the annual meeting.


Ian King, MD
University of Alberta


Ankita Chattopadhyay, MD
All India Institute of Medical Sciences New Delhi

Early Career Addiction Psychiatrist Award

This award is given to residents, fellows or early career psychiatrists. Awardees are chosen based on the quality of original research in the field of substance use disorders and co-occurring psychiatric disorders. The awardee will present their work at the annual meeting.

Joseph Ikekwere, MD, MPH
University of Illinois at Chicago

Sheldon Miller Early Career Award

This award is given to PGY3 residents enrolled in programs related to the treatment of substance use disorders and co-occurring psychiatric disorders. All awardees were formally nominated by their residency directors.

Rohit Abraham, MD, MPH
Boston University School of Medicine
Jose Perez Martell, MD
University of Kansas School of Medicine
Jennifer Phan, MD
LSU-OLOL Psychiatry Residency Program