2019 Travel and Research Awards are supported by:

American Academy of Addiction Psychiatry
National Institute on Drug Abuse

Medical Student Travel Award Recipients

The medical student travel scholarships offer the opportunity for medical students interested in pursuing residency and education in the field of Addiction Psychiatry to attend the Annual Meeting.

Courtney Bell, MD Candidate
University Of Central Florida College Of Medicine
Alison, Kilcup, MD Candidate
University Of Chicago
Tabitha Moses, MD Candidate
Wayne State University
Erica Smith, MD Candidate
Saint Louis University School Of Medicine
Sarah Ziegenhorn, MD Candidate
University Of Iowa Carver College Of Medicine

PGY I-IV/Resident Travel Award Recipients

The resident travel scholarship offers the opportunity for PGY I-IV residents interested in learning about the etiology, diagnosis and treatment of substance abuse use disorders to attend the Annual Meeting.

Raghu Appasani, MD
LAC + USC Medical Center
Austin Blum, MD
University Of Chicago Medicine
Manesh Gopaldas, MD
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Miranda Greiner, MD, MPH
Weill Cornell – New York Presbyterian
Adrienne Hicks, MD
Harlem Hospital
Danielle Jackson, MD
Northwestern University Psychiatry And Behavioral Health
Oluwole Jegede, MD
Interfaith Medical Center
Robert Kleinman, MD
Stanford University
Azim Munivar, MD
Yale University
Andrew Olagunju, MD
McMaster University/St Joseph Healthcare Hamilton
Garrett Rossi, MD
Cooper University Hospital
Veronica Ridpath, MD
Atrium Health
April Schindler, MD
Atrium Health’s Sandra And Leon Levine Psychiatry Residency
Ariel Sloan, MD
Yale/ New Haven Hospital Psychiatry Residency Program
Ashvin Sood, MD
NYU Langone General Adult Psychiatry
Daniel Suter, MD
Icahn School Of Medicine At Mount Sinai Psychiatry Residency
Nikhil Teja, MD
Musa Yilanli, MD
University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

PGY-V/Fellow Travel Award Recipients

The PGY-V travel scholarships offers the opportunity for PGY-V+ Addiction Psychiatry residents interested in furthering their careers in the field of Addiction Psychiatry to attend the Annual Meeting.

Felipe Castillo, MD
Columbia University
Jennifer Creedon, MD
LSU New Orleans
Leonardo Cubillos, MD
Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical Center
Jonathan Henry, MD
Northwestern University
Jeremy Hustead, MD
West Virginia University
Veronica Perez, MD
University Of Texas Southwestern
Siddarth Puri, MD
Nayda Maldonado Ramos, MD
Veterans Health Administration System
Atef Shaikh, MD
NYU Langone
Kimberly Stubbs, MD
Emory University School Of Medicine

Early Career Recipient

The Early Career Addiction Psychiatry Award is chosen based on the quality of original research conducted by the applicant and their demonstrated commitment to the field of Addiction Psychiatry.

Heather Ward, MD
Brigham & Women’s Hospital and Harvard Medical School Psychiatry Residency

Regional Travel Awards

Kendra Kobrin, MD, PhD
University Of Massachusetts Medical School
Regional- Area I
Sanya Virani, MD, MPH
Maimonides Medical Center
Regional- Area II
Sheyda Sabetan, MD
Hospital At The University Of Pennsylvania
Regional- Area III
Ibrahim Sablaban, DO
Henry Ford Hospital
Regional- Area IV
India Reddy, MD, PhD
Vanderbilt University Psychiatry Residency Program
Regional- Area V
Jennifer Papac, MD
Regional- Area VI
Lewis Kerwin, MD
University Of Washington
Regional- Area VII
Gustavo Costa Medeiros, MD
University Of Texas Southwestern
Regional- Area VIII
Nikhita Singhal, MD
University Of Toronto Psychiatry Residency Program
Regional- Area IX

International Travel Award

Preethy Kathiresan, MD
All India Institute of Medical Sciences